tsr

Over Kill On Security Software

Hi Gang:

Here is a question for our members, appreciate your insight.

I am running Hitman Pro and Trojan Remover as a "on demand" scanner. What is your opinion, is this a over kill?  Is Emsisoft Anti-Malware sufficient protection?   Or is this a good idea to have a second opinion??-In  regards to Hitman Pro there are 5 different Anti-virus vendors (which includes Emsisoft) scanning ones files????? :)   How important is extra layer protection???

Hitman Pro is a nice addition to have on hand for an on demand scan, but it isn't essential.

I tend to use it a couple of times weekly and the benefit is that it causes no conflicts with EAM.

I have no knowledge of or experience with Trojan Remover.

tsr-you pose an interesting question. There is no 100 % right or wrong answer. Let's just say it all depends, on you. If you are comfortable with what you use, then great!

In my opinion, smart computer security is a 2 fold deal, find effective, proven tools and use them wisely, then, do not be careless online (and rely on the tools to save your behind :blink: ). In the old days, it was easy to spot the "bad :ph34r: guys" because they all wore black masks-so much for it being easy these days!

But seriously, nothing in this world is 100%-I believe in a layered approach (I am not an A/V or A/M expert but I know what works for me). Utilize the tools at your disposal (again wisely) and you should be all set! :D  :D

You have to be careful when installing multiple security applications. Even though you have turned off any real-time protection in one or more of your security applications, they are still using system resources. Almost all of todays security applications install services that run at system and/or windows startup.