Sign in to follow this  
TXGuy

Change in update size

I am using A-Squared Free version 4.5.0.27. I have been using A-S for about 7 months.

I run signature updates 1-2 time per day, every day. I use A-S for additional scanning, not on-access/real-time use.

In the past couple of weeks, the size of the updates have increase significantly. Prior updates were 300Kb - 500Kb approximately. Of late, most updates are 4-5MB, with an occasional smaller update file(s) on the update gui.

1. Is something new happening with the updates or is something possibly wrong with my A-S installation?
  2. Is there a method to refresh the entire signature database without re-installing a fresh copy of A-S?

Any suggestions or information will be appreciated.

Hi,

wenn Objekte nicht entfernt werden können würde ich erst einmal einen Scan im abgesicherten Modus durchführen.

In den meinsten Fällen können die Objekte im abgesicherten Modus enfernt werden.

Hachi'

I do not understand how your answer:

If objects can not be removed, I would do once scan one in Safe Mode.

In my cases, the objects in Safe Mode can be away.

in any remote way applies to my questions.

Hi TXGuy, welcome to the forum.

Lately there are more frequent updates of the a-squared' native signatures and that's what contributing to the size of each update

You always can check the update log

and then look into \Singatures\ directory in order to see what files were delivered (by date) and compare their total size as what was in stated at the beginning of the update

Usually the updates of Additional Signatures (Ikarus) are more frequent and those differential updates are smaller in size each. Sure if you miss day or two you will get bigger update

Most likely currently some “cleaning” of a2 signatures is taking place

The developers may explain the reason

...Is there a method to refresh the entire signature database without re-installing a fresh copy of A-S?...