MarkD

Cannot use RDP over VPN

Hello

I am using Emsisoft Internet Security (and have been for many years). My home PC runs Windows 10 Professional.

My job is IT and I regularly need to establish a VPN connection to my employer's network and then use RDP to connect to the servers/desktops to install Windows updates, check the backup etc. I have been using VPN/RDP for about 10 years.

About the 14th January I was suddenly unable to establish an RDP connection and have not been able to do so since.

I tried various troubleshooting methods and this morning I uninstalled Emsisoft Internet Security and was able to establish an RDP connection. I use Microsoft's Remote Desktop Connection Manager V2.2. After establishing the VPN connection I open RDCM, right-click a server and the log in dialog usually appears immediately. I have tried connecting to my work Windows 7 Pro client and to Windows server 2008, 2012 and 2012 R2.

Since 14th Jan, when I right-click a server and choose Connect Server, the connection attempt times-out.

So, this morning I uninstalled EIS and everything worked - the RDP connection to the server was immediate: the server log in dialog appeared straight away. I downloaded the latest version of EIS (I always keep EIS up to date with signature and program updates anyway), installed it, and after installation I am again unable to establish an RDP connection. I have also tried the standard 'Remote Desktop Connection' Desktop App but that fails too.

My home network uses 192.168.0.xxx and my work network uses 192.168.1.xxx. I use an LMHOSTS file to identify the Windows domain and to map the IP/name of our data server.

I have tried rebuilding the TCP stack, SFC, and even tried adding the servers to the HOSTS file.