Sign in to follow this  
Jeff

Amnesia/Amnesia 2

Good afternoon,

I have an older server that was infected with what, to my best ID, is Amnesia2.  I was able to use ID Ransomware to point to Amnesia2 from the "note" and an encrypted file.  And from there I saw the links to this site. 

The machine is running Windows Server 2003, and I was not able to run EEK on it, but I was able to run Farbar Recovery Scan Tool on it (and have attached the logs if this can be of help).

The machine is the only one infected and I have closed the RDP port (requested by a software vendor for maintenance) which I believe was how the machine was infected.

While I have used other tools to clean malware from other computers this is my first time dealing with ransom ware and was hoping for some advice/pointers by those more experienced with this particular beast.

Thank you for any advice/assistance you can provide.

Jeff

Addition.txt

FRST.txt

4 hours ago, Jeff said:

The machine is the only one infected and I have closed the RDP port (requested by a software vendor for maintenance) which I believe was how the machine was infected.

That's generally how the Amnesia ransomware gets on a computer. Someone brute forces the administrator password via RDP (or abuses some other form of remote access), gains access to the system, manually disables any installed security software, and then manually copies the ransomware to the computer and executes it.

4 hours ago, Jeff said:

The machine is running Windows Server 2003, and I was not able to run EEK on it, but I was able to run Farbar Recovery Scan Tool on it (and have attached the logs if this can be of help).

Our products don't run on Windows Server 2003. Microsoft discontinued support for it a few years ago, and we don't recommend using it.