Sign in to follow this  
Michal Nawrocik

ransomware from 2016, probably a variant of CerberTear

A friend of mine asked me to try to decrypt their files which were encrypted with some kind of ransomware.

They say the infection took place in 2016 or at the beginning of 2017. The newest encrypted file is dated 30.08.2016.

Unfortunately, my friend is not very tech-savvy so they deleted the virus itself leaving only the encrypted files and the ransom note.

I'm also not much into ransomware, I'm a programmer.

I ran undelete on the disk I got from my friend and found no recoverable executable files.

Then I used the online identification tool with the following result:

https://id-ransomware.malwarehunterteam.com/identify.php?case=6a2aa256aee1d973b13b3bdd1725def73d88b997

Then I clicked the link to read more on the 1st result found:

As you can see, it says this ransomware, called CerberTear, is a fake Cerber, actually a variation of HiddenTear.

I tried several HiddenTear decryptors I found on the internet, none of them seemed to work and I guess they couldn't, I'll explain this below.

I also tried decryptors for other malware types suggested by id-ransomware, obviously to no avail.

The thing is: I don't see a decryptor for CerberTear specifically, only for HiddenTear and CerberTear is quite different from original HiddenTear actually.

HiddenTear encrypts whole file content and the files I am trying to decrypt got first 127 bytes unencrypted, then n times 8 bytes encrypted, then the remainder unencrypted.

I analyzed the source code of hidden-tear-bruteforcer https://github.com/Demonslay335/hidden-tear-bruteforcer and I found it tries to decrypt the very beginning of the file, for all supported variants of HiddenTear. This can't work for me as the beginning of the file is not encrypted in my case.