Razz

My Protection - what's yours?

I'm a newbie on this forum (in fact, I joined today) and besides 3rd. party anti-malware with real time protection, I'm curious what members are using for additional protection.  I'll list my current protection, please feel free to comment if you feel I should add something or feel that something is not necessary.

• Windows Defender (Windows 10 version)
  • MVPS Host File
  • NordVPN
  • SpywareBlaster
  • WinPatrol Free
  • CyberSight RansomStopper
  • Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Free (for periodic manual scans)
  • SuperAntiSpyware Free (for periodic manual scans)

Browser Extensions (I use Chrome):

• Emsisoft Browser Security
  • Malwarebytes Browser Extension
  • uBlock Origin
  • TrafficLight
  • HTTPS Everywhere

I just use Emsisoft (blocking PUPs) on my workhorse PC with the extension and Norton with its extension on another. I use Firefox because I see Google as a data collection machine and Chrome as an extension of it. But using either you also have Google's safebrowsing.phishing and safebrowsing.malware options enabled by default.

I have Privacy Badger from the  Electronic Frontier Foundation

And I use my instincts.

Edited by bobbonomo
addition

• MVPS Host File

Just don't. You will hurt your general performance considerably. Better to just enable the MVPS filter list in uBlock.

•  SpywareBlaster

Kind of pointless. uBlock does a better job. Ad hosts blocked by uBlock can't set cookies in the first place. That's all it pretty much does if you are using Firefox.

• TrafficLight

For someone who is concerned about their privacy it is interesting that you willingly send your entire surf history to any company in clear text:

image.png
Download Image