IDXearo

Nusar files encryption

Hi All, 

Currently my friend has a severe virus or so on his pc and almost all of this workfiles are encrypted when he tried to make backup. 

From what I can tell it is nusar extension on his files. The "StopDecyrpter" tool we found does not resolve this. 

Let me know if I should attach one of the files to this post. 

extension (.nusar)

This is the result of the STOP Ransomware attack. I have been tracking the malicious work of this program since December 2017. 
Now on the forum a lot of victims from different variants of this Ransomware. In some cases, the files can be decrypted. 

@Demonslay335  (the developer of the STOPDecrypter) collects information from the victims, writes data and tries to update the STOP Decrypter. After that, victims can try to decrypt the files. A positive result and a lucky chance are not always possible.

Download STOP Decrypter again >>>

First you need to try to decrypt a small group of files, but first you need to make copies of these files.

If STOPDecrypter won't be able to recover your files yet, it can still be used to get information that may be able to help the creator of STOPDecrypter figure out your decryption key. Here's a link to instructions on how to get this information with STOPDecrypter:
https://kb.gt500.org/stopdecrypter 

Thank you very much for following up. 

I have looked at Stop Decrypter and I did try it. It did recover 100 out of 1000 files so that was a good start, at least there is some hope. I posted my information to the forum post. While I don't know how long an answer will take it doesn't seem like there are any other viable solution, including paid ones. I did try one excel file recovery solution and it said "file is severely corrupted" and we wouldn't have even mind paying for it, if it would have worked. 

8 hours ago, IDXearo said:

I posted my information to the forum post.

I assume you mean the STOP ransomware forum topic at BleepingComputer?