Harmony

Phobos .adame Ransomware

Hi everyone newbie here lovely to meet you all.

I've been infected ( well my pc has ) with the dreaded Phobos Ransomware.  I know there is no key yet for it but just wondered if anyone else has had any luck getting their files back without paying the criminals.

I did have most of my files backed up but not all of them as I had just come back from holiday and had not had time to  back up all my holiday photos and work documents, the files that have been infected are really precious so I am really upset.

On 10/31/2019 at 11:58 PM, GT500 said:

Your files were encrypted by a newer variant of STOP/Djvu that uses a more secure form of encryption. Since your ID isn't an offline ID, it won't be possible for the decrypter to decrypt your files.

It may be possible that law enforcement will catch the criminals some day, and release the private keys so that we can add them to our database to allow decryption of everyone's files, so we recommend making a backup of all of your encrypted files in case this happens some day.

I contacted the UK Cyber Crime Unit and UK Action Fraud and my IP Provider.  I did manage to grab the criminals IP but then I suppose they are using various VPN's.

I refuse to pay the ransom goodness knows how much it would be anyway.

43 minutes ago, Amigo-A said:

Now the situation is different with the new STOP Ransomware variants:
.gero, .hese , .xoza, .seto, .peta, .moka, .meds, .kvag, .domn, .karl, .nesa, .boot, .noos, .kuub, .reco, .bora, .leto, .nols, .werd, .coot, .derp, .nakw, .meka, .toec,

Most files will never be decrypted. It will take millions of years to advance one step in decryption, but even this does not lead to decryption of files.

To prevent this from happening, you need to better protect your PC and not use any pirated and hacked software. 

Of course, licensed use is an expensive pleasure, but there are many legitimate analogues of those paid programs that are commonly used around the world.