MarkD

Supplementary anti-ransomware software.

Hello

I was considering supplementing EAM with Checkpoint's paid-for Zonealarm anti-ransomware software.  Looking at reviews it performs extremely well and it states that it runs fine with other security software.

Trawling the forums I could only find this which related to compatibility issues between EAM and Checkpoint's anti-ransomware but it is from 2017.

In the past I have always stuck with a single security product. However, ransomware is now the predominant threat and it seems that even companies with gazillions to spend on security are falling victim (via social engineering). I reckon the extra layer of protection will be well worth it.

I know that EAM is a great product (I have been using it for over 10 years) but would like to get people's thoughts/experience with this, please.

Thank you.

Mark

Ransonware is just another from of malware, EAM protects against malware, very well I might add.  So not needed. I also have a feeling that these 2 programs would conflict in some way.

3 hours ago, digmor crusher said:

Ransonware is just another from of malware, EAM protects against malware, very well I might add.  So not needed. I also have a feeling that these 2 programs would conflict in some way.

Thank you for responding to my query.

I agree that EAM protects against malware. I disagree that ransomware is in the same boat - encrypting files is done legitimately thousands of times every day - it is determining whether the encryption is malicious that is the issue. Coupled with the fact that ransomware variants are able to easily elude many corporate editions of security products (just look at the news items - there are many examples), I feel having more than one layer of protection is important.  I agree that EAM has excellent (and intelligent) heuristics, however, additional protection can't be a bad thing.

I was just wondering if anyone else had any experience of using these products side-by-side.