Sign in to follow this  
JChriss

A question about rogue antivirus applications

I was conducting a Google image search of May 2011 calendars. On the second or third one I clicked on, there was a rogue antivirus application apparently imbedded in the picture file. Anyway, it ran for awhile until I was able to exit from the program. It did not get far enough to offer a download box to "remove" the fake trojans it had found. I immediately ran a quick scan and nothing was found, so I assume it did no damage.

So are these things typically harmless if you don't download anything? And I should also assume Google image searches are a bit dangerous, no?

Usually you have to download an execute the offered file to get hit by anything. At the moment Google image search is a real minefield, almost every popular search has a few of these hijacked images.

I'm no expert on this, but I would assume that the page itself contains the code to display the fake AV warning, not the image. And, I suspect that the application is not embedded in the image.

Regardless of the mechanics, if you encounter a web page that displays a fake alert start Task Manager and kill the browser processes that are running. Don't click anything in the browser. There's an Emsisoft article about fake av somewhere.

[Edit]

And here it is:

http://www.emsisoft.com/en/kb/articles/tec080923/

I'm no expert on this, but I would assume that the page itself contains the code to display the fake AV warning, not the image. And, I suspect that the application is not embedded in the image.

Regardless of the mechanics, if you encounter a web page that displays a fake alert start Task Manager and kill the browser processes that are running. Don't click anything in the browser. There's an Emsisoft article about fake av somewhere.

[Edit]

And here it is:

http://www.emsisoft.com/en/kb/articles/tec080923/

Thanks for the link to the article. I will read it shortly.

Hi Guys,

There are many rogue AV's out there.