Sign in to follow this  
dallas7

Firewall Programs & Ports List Problem.

I have Automatically allow Trusted programs to access the internet and Autoconfigure trusted programs disabled in Firewall Options. I like to build my own.

Firefox seems to have vanished from from the Programs list in the Firewall. It is still listed under Ports and the rules I built still work OK. Using Add, I select firefox.exe and... nothing.

Since I noticed that, plugin-container.exe poped-up a "A program wants to use the internet" for port 80 and I created a rule for that. plugin-container does not appear in either the Files or the Ports list though I can observe it active on port 80 in Firewall Status.

I haven't yet seen where other connected apps I've built rules for don't show up in the Files and Ports lists, but I'm just getting started. But the lack of access to the entries for editing is disturbing.

Is this a GUI bug?

Any ideas on how I can fix those listings for firefox.exe and plugin-container.exe?

Thanks.

If you create a rule for "Current session only", it won't appear in the list of rules. I'm not sure if this was the case with your plugin container rule?

This wouldn't explain why the Firefox rule went missing though. You could try deleting all Firefox rules and let OA prompt you again and see if the rule in Programs gets readded then perhaps.

Although I can't bet my life on it, I'm pretty sure I did not check current session when plugin-container popped up an alert. The only time I did that was when I went to a filestube dot com which likes port 8087 - a good test for my 80 & 443 only browswer rule (as is yahoo's Web Messenger, ports 843 and 5050, and 1935 popular with Flash servers).

In the meantime, I've been using OAP trial on my ancient Dell P3 laptop (which I won't be licensing) that is similarly configured with XPsp3-32 as the Intel E8400 Asus tower which has been the center of discussions so far. The File entry for firefox.exe is gone also.