Lizardking

By far the most annoying firewall - installation mode, trust program, remember my decision, none works

I've gone through 3 firewalls just in the last 4 months. Zonealarm froze my computer, Comodo rebooted it. So far, Online armor seemed to work well. Until I try to install something.

I'm a biochemistry student, and I need to work with some molecule drawers, so I downloaded Avogadro to try instead of ChemSketch and wow... I got at least 10 pop-up windows, and I'm pretty sure I got more, but at a certain point I gave up and shut down OA. In ALL I ticked "installation mode", "trust this program" and "remember my decision". First of all it's completely useless to have all these 3 synonimous options, which should make the same thing: stop bugging me about this program. Surprisingly, they all fail at this. So I get prompted with numerous different .dll files which Avogadro tries to open, even though I have put it on Allowed - so even though they're different files, the parent program is always Avogadro.exe, which is set to Allow. It's actually sad that in the UI Avogadro shows up as Allowed and still in the back the pop-ups keep coming. Does OA have some sort of learning disability? What's the point of having 3 similar options if apparently none of them works?

Another thing is with avast. I have told it to Allow avast pretty much everytime I turn my computer on, and yet every time OA must think I might have changed my mind. When I go to the UI, even though I have set avast to Allow, it shows "Ask". Same thing with CoreTemp: allowed numerous times, get prompted everytime with the same question. Maybe not only a learning disability, but a bit of Alzheimer's too.